09/10/2017Some people say that computer games are bad for children by all means; others believe that these games are contributing to children’s development.

Many aver video games have an adverse influence on offspring while others claim the games are useful for progeny’s development. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be stated. On the one hand, playing on a computer has some disadvantageous effects on children. Firstly, youngsters who often adore action games and shooters are exposed to the violence. Their hero routinely kills and get killed and children who cannot at early age separate themselves from the character become accustomed to committing crimes. Statistically, the number of delinquencies committed by adolescents has doubled since the computer games had become widespread in the 1990s. Secondly, gaming is associated with a sedentary lifestyle and this tendency possesses a threat to offspring' s overall well-being and leads to such problems as excessive weight and even diabetes. Many doctors attribute a recent surge in those illnesses to the bad habit of staying all-day-long in front of a laptop screen. Those are several examples that support the first point of view. On the other hand, some point out gaming has a positive impact on descendants’ development. Primarily, motor skills, reaction and consequently functioning of children’s brains are being forged by video games. To illustrate, a study conducted in the USA has demonstrated the speed of reaction of those who were playing since the age of four is twice of those who avoided playing on computers. Furthermore, being able to socialize in contemporary society is another benefit. Computer games have become so ubiquitous today the majority of pupils and students play them. If a child wants to be accepted by peers and to have friends, he needs to have this experience of playing novel video games because without it he may become an outcast among youngsters. In other words, the second viewpoint appears to be correct. In my opinion, although there are some drawbacks that are undoubtedly connected with playing computer games, the trend is unstoppable and the number of kids playing keeps growing steadily. Thus, the mankind need embrace the change and accept those games as a beneficial part of a modern culture.