Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to a natural environment. Discuss some of the arguments for and/or against keeping animals in zoos.

The curiosity of animal has never faded among the children, especially for those who are living in metropolises. The zoo seems to be a best way for them to learn about wild animals, therefore some peoples embrace the idea of keeping animals inside zoos. However, not everyone justifies the value of zoo. In this essay, we will discuss both side of compelling arguments. To begin with the opponents, they believe that zoos are no longer necessary in this technological era, basing on the reason that there are wide range of animals information available on internet. The Internet not only provide image but also video along with full description related to animals habitat and behavior. In addition, the images or videos video are in fact more realistic to reflect the natural environment as the animals are taken under micro camera and they do not aware that they were being watched, which is different from zoos where the animals are seemingly a display for the visitors. The people, on the other hand, believe that the functions of zoos are far beyond the educational purpose to our offspring, but to provide a shelter to many kinds of animals which are beyond extinction. Taking an example in China, the pandas which are one of the highly extinct animals among all the others have extremely slow surivial rate during earily age as most of the pandas are lack of ability to take care their offspring. Zoos in China not only provide a shelter and food to them, but also take care of their offspring with professional baby sister. Thanks to their tremendous effort on pandas, the number of pandas is increasing in recent years. From this prospective, zoos actually play an important role on saving animals. Even though zoos are no longer playing an crucial role on acquisition of animal knowledge, they have been transformed into other areas like animal protection. It is believable that the zoos will continue to stride on saving animals from extinction.