Your school wants to improve the quality of students’ life in the dormitory. Which one of the following do you think the school should build in dorms? 1. a quiet study area; 2. an exercise room for students to keep physical well-being; 3. a room for ent

The future belongs to the youngsters, which requires the schools to give top priority to the rights and benefits of students. Not only should the schools emphasize on improving students’ academic performance, nut they ought to pay more attention to ensure the well-being of students’ life. When presented with the dilemma of what to build in the dorm, if I were the decision maker, I would like to choose to establish an exercise room for students to keep physical health compared with build a study area or an entertainment room. Admittedly, students do need a comfortable and quiet space to fully concentrate on learning. But it does not mean that an extra study area in dorm is necessary. Nowadays, the vast majority of students have good manner, which indicates that they will keep the noise down if their roommates temporarily need to study. Even though the dormitories are extremely noisy so that they cannot be totally focused, they can go to the libraries for the sake of an excellent environment. What’s more, the students’ required courses have already been intensive, there is no reason for them to study all the time even if after class. Hence, an extra study area is meaningless and the funding can be better used. The same can also hold for the entertainment room. Facing fierce competition with their peers, they have been saddled with heavy load of study. Generally, they are more likely to relax themselves after a whole day study, such as playing computer games, watching movies and so forth. However, all of these can be fulfilled in their rooms or the shopping malls rather than the useless entertainment room since the room specially for entertainment may not greatly match their own hobbies. According to the reports from the educational column of the New York Times, when referring their hobbies, above fifty percent of the university students choose playing video games, followed by the data that almost thirty percent of students choose exercising in gyms as their favourite. Both of these two popular demands cannot be satisfied by the entertainment room. Therefore, it is abrupt to establish an additional room for entertainment without exploring whether the students have preference to it. Finally, taking the utility and students’ interests into account, there is every reason to believe that adding a exercise room in the dorms is the wisest option. First, it is obvious that this decision is conducive to students’ physical health. As they are suffer from staying in the classroom all day, taking regular exercises has been increasingly imperative. If they have easier access to do exercise in the dormitories, they do not have to travel a long distance to the gyms off campus. As a result, they can benefit a lot from sufficient exercise on a daily basis. In addition, offering a exercise room to the students is also an effective method to relieve their pressure from bustling study. For instance, they are busy with a number of assignments everyday, such as writing papers and preparing for endless tests, thus they are always stressed out. During such time, an exercise room will be the best choice for them to get away from daily grind. Consequently, establishing a room for exercise is conducive for their physical and psychological health. In sum, although some people may consider a quite study area or a specialized entertainment space can effectively improve students’ life, I definitely believe that an exercise room can literally give the students a sense of well-being.