Sample TOEFL essay: Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

There are many convinienve for people living in the big city, but I' d like to live in the small town. I can enjoy the advantages if I live in the small city. Because compared with the convinience between the major ones and small ones, I need the small palces to live, I will address my views there in after. To begin with, traffic problems in big city is the first obstacle. When I was in Shanghai where I spent 4 years of college life, I found the city is so huge that I would go to anywhere by subway. Meanwhile, It would cost me at least one hour in the train. The car was also full of people. While now I am working in my home town, a small city, I can drive to my company within half hour even if there is a traffic jam on the road. Also, sometimes I can take the new subway in my town. There are fewer people in the car. What' s more, because of the scale of my hometown is smaller compared with major city like Shanghai, both of the public buses and private cars are easy to take. I really Appriciate the mood when I was drving in my hometown because the sky is blue and more important the cars on the roads are much fewer than there are in Shanghai. In addition, the nature environment of small city is better than the big city. As the big city is the production of highly developed civilization and technology, there are often environmental problems broght by the prosperity. Or in other words, the pollution of the big city is another reason that I do not like to live there. In my hometown, as the moutains and rivers are well protected by government, the beatiful natural environment is the priceless treasure for the residents in this city. Every year there are over a hundred thousand travellers visit my hometown, some of them may just want to drink the spring from the moutain outside the town which they can not enjoy in the big city. Moreover, the air is nice and clean. I am proud of that in the mobile app-Air quality of China, my hometown is always ranking in the first five cities which have the best air quality. Finally, the living pressure is smaller if people live in the small city, compared with the big one. It is true that there are more opportunities in big city. I was applying for jobs in Shanghai when I graduated form my college, with more money I can earn, I was on much more pressure for a living. At first there was not much money if I paid for the rent of the room I lived in. Besides, the place I lived was far from my company in Shanghai. While as I returned to my hometown, I got a job easily and the company was closer to my home as I metioned I could go to my office within hal hour. WIth less salaries, my living pressure was much less than in Shanghai. In all, I believe there are lots of people would like to choose the big city to live for many reasons. But I would like to make a more meaningful life that I can take care of my parents as they are getting old. Also, the convinience of the small city benefits me a lot as I discussed.