Your government has announced that it wishes to build a military base near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the military base? Explain your position.

Teaching children how to be productive members in society has always been an important topic to tackle. However, is it the main responsibility of the parents or the school? In my opinion, it is primarily the responsibility of the parents, but also the school should contribute to support the parents' behaviour. Firstly, children spend most of their time with their parents and they learn every aspect of life from them. For instance, they learn to eat, dress and talk just by watching their parents and mimicking them. Thus, parents could be good members in society themselves and the children would learn that automatically. Moreover, parents have the highest impact on their children, especially in young age. A child would do everything to see his parents proud of him. Therefore, whenever a child contributes to the society in a good way, even if it is very small, the look of contentment and pride his parents give him would encourage him to do more. On the other hand, children get to know their first community other than their parents in schools. They learn several new things and they start to develop new friendships and social interactions. Here comes the role of the school, where they need to support the parents' views or the children will have an unstable personality. For example, if the parents' instructed their children to throw garbage in the bin, and the school allowed them to throw it on the floor, the consequences of this contradictory act would make the child not know what is correct and what is not. Additionally, school would teach the child new things not encountered at home, so it basically complements the parent's actions. In conclusion, opinions differed about the main responsibility holder to bring up children to be good members in society. In my opinion, both parents and schools contribute in this procedure and subsequently they both have to be on the same page.