Your friend has an opportunity to study in one of the following two types of majors. Which one do you think is better? a. To complete his or her studies and get a job faster b. To study in a major that requires many years of studying but one which would l

Career outlook is one of the most significant aspects of a university major considered by students who are contemplating about what field to enroll in. Pertain to this, it can be concluded that majors which guarantee a prosperous future of wealth and social status are more prevalent among students. But the problem with most of these majors is that they require more years to pass the courses necessary before one can take on a job relevant to the field. In that regard, another important aspect students weigh out before deciding on a field of study, is the number of years needed to spend in class before they can attain a degree. This can put many students on the verge of a crossroad – should they start a field which enables them to embark on a job in a shorter period of time, or should they wait out the longer years required to get a degree in a major with a more prosperous career outlook? Many factors should be considered upon making this significant, life-altering decision; current status economically, personal interest, life goals, etc. Evidently, the most suitable decision will vary from one individual to another, each followed by a string of advantages and disadvantages. However, I would strongly advise new students to embark on a field that would guarantee them a more sumptuous future, even if this major requires prolonged study courses. When making significant choices in life, every person should consider the short-term and long-term consequences that decision will have. Although some choices might lead to desired outcomes in the short-run, they might not be the most appropriate decision in the span of the years. It is quite usual for some students to be tantalized by job opportunities present for them early on, but they should contemplate if that job can take them where they want to be in twenty or thirty years. Or if the job available will ensure them of the life they want in the future. Many of the job opportunities that appear in the early years for a student are dead-end jobs with minimum prosper and room to improve. Whereas, if students persistently await the hard years of studying and not give to the tempting job opportunities, they will have many better, sophisticated and more appropriate employment options laid out before them – opportunities with room for promotion, prosper, social class and wealth. An immediate example that comes to mind is medical school. Many student are frightened by the long, arduous years of study that is mandatory for a medical degree; thus a small portion will be motivated to strive throughout the years. But in the long run, it is evident that the persons who take the high-road and patiently thrive through the years are awarded with employment opportunities of high social class and wealth. In my own experience, I have seen quite a large number of remorseful people who took the easy road to earlier employment, wishing they had had the patience and persistence to choose the other path. As mentioned before, I believe that ultimately the most suitable course of action is different for each individual. Some students might not have the persistence required in a major necessitating more courses. Or they might not have the economical stand that will assist them through the years of study required, thus pushing them in a direction ensued by early employment. In other words, although it is obvious that a major guaranteeing more sophisticated employment opportunities is the ideal course of action, not everyone has the freedom to make that decision. Thus, the pros and cons of each course of action should be weighed out against ones current status in life. To conclude, deciding on a university major is one the most significant choices in life and employment outlook is perhaps one of the most important factors one should consider upon embarking on a field of study. Although the most suited decision between a major ensued by early employment opportunities or a field requiring longer years of study, but higher employments options is different for each individual, I believe taking the harder road and persisting through longer of study is more rewarding in the long run.