TPO-26: It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job. Use specific reasons and examples to sup

Upon starting college, children will start contemplating about preferable subjects with great job outlooks. Many of these may feel the urge, or in some cases pressure, to follow in the steps of their parent so they can pursue the family business in the years to come. Although there can be many great benefits for children to continue the business run by their family, or just simply enroll in a job similar to that of their parents, such as the passed on experience and laid groundwork, I am not very fond of this. Some of the reasons for my disapproval are elaborated below. First and for most, I think by encouraging children to follow in the footsteps of their parents, their own interests and independence might be dismissed. For example, a potential artist might never get discovered just because he/she had to go through medical school to pursue the practice of his/her parent or a great novelist might be dismissed as he/she takes on the duties of the family company. This could lead to a constant sense of dissatisfaction and lack of independence, which could affect one’s productivity and success in the undesired job. Although, not all these children are actually forced to pursue their parents’ careers, many might feel they have no other options simply because they have not been familiarized with other avenues for their future. Also, unhealthy competition which could in turn lead to tension between family members is a sure output of this endeavor in many families. If, for example there are several children and a big family company, how will it be decided that who will be the CEO? These situations can lead to pressure and rivalry between siblings which can later damage their relationship with one another. Also, there can be pressure on the child enrolling in a job similar to that of a parent to fill his/her parent’s shoe, meet the expectations and excel beyond the parent. By and large, I believe this course of action might have deep impact on the children and family members, leading to anxiety and tension. In general, I think although enrolling in a business familiar to the child might seem intriguing at first, there are many potential disadvantages that come from it. Nevertheless, I think the final decision should of course be made by the child to consider if he/she would like to embark on the career of his/her parents, or pursue his/her own dreams. But parents should be aware not to pressure their children, both evidently and passively, into following their steps by informing them of the various majors and careers they can embark on.