Your degree requires that you should choose a history course. Which of the following courses would you prefer? (1) Art history (2) Twentieth-century world history (3) Science history

In the recent times, the human actions have caused devastating effects on the environment. It is often argued that measures taken by the government and big corporations can have a greater impact as compared to individuals. I completely disagree with this view, for two main reasons, such as people can take measures that can help in reducing the pollution levels and can also use environmental friendly products to make a difference. To begin with, usage of private vehicles causes high pollution levels affecting our environment. This is because individuals want to commute by private cars as it is more convenient and saves one more time. However, people fail to understand the adverse effects of the increase in the number of private cars has on the environment, as this leads to increasing the emission of toxic gases like carbon dioxide in the atmosphere which pollutes the air. In a recent study, Delhi has been declared to have the maximum number of private vehicles, which has led it to be one of the highest polluted cities in the country. People can take measures by using public transportation, which can help in reducing the pollution levels in the city. Furthermore, individuals can use environmental friendly products. This means people need to use products that can be recycled or can be used multiple times before they get disposed. It has been seen that one of the products such as plastic, which is used as a shopping bag on a daily basis by individuals, is a product which cannot be recycled and causes a huge amount of damage to the environment as it is not disposed in the right way. In a recent research, there were 20 million plastic bags that were found disposed in a landfill area near New Zealand. The individuals can take measures to reduce the usage of plastic by using alternative means such as cloth bags. To conclude, along with the government and the corporate, the society should also as a whole take steps such as increasing the usage of public transportation and using environmental friendly products which can help in making a cleaner environment.