Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theater and less time on sport. How far

It is often said that the youth of today should frequently engage in cultural activities such as music and theatre rather than sport. Personally, I partially agree with view, as now will be discussed. On the one hand, I agree that participation of today’s youth in cultural activities can be seen as beneficial for their mental health. Cultural engagement may give many young people an effective way to take their mind off stressful situations. Thus, it could help their chances of stress and anxiety reduction. In addition, they are likely to experience an intense feeling of relaxation and happiness that comes after participating in a cultural activity. Watching a play at the theater, for example, may allow young audience to ease their mind as they often get so involved in it that they tend to forget about all the problems they are currently faced with and see how the story unfold, which could leave them feeling relaxed afterwards. (In my view, it is necessary for young people to take part in cultural activities since this could benefit their mind) Nevertheless, I believe that regular sport participation is just as important to the youth as cultural engagement since it could be advantageous to their physical health. Playing sports could allow many young people to stay in shape as well as have more energy at work or school, which may help increase their productivity. For instance, since taking up swimming and badminton a year ago, I have felt so stronger and healthier than ever before that I have managed to stay productive and survive working long hours. In addition, compared to those with low levels of physical activity, physically active people are more likely to maintain a healthy weight. Thus, they would be able to prevent themselves from some life-threatening diseases, namely heart disease, obesity, diabetes, stroke, and high blood pressure. In conclusion, while cultural activities are necessary for young people’s mental health, I feel that taking part in sports should not be neglected for the sake of their physical fitness.