Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theater and less time on sport. How far

It is often said that the youth of today should frequently engage in cultural activities such as music and theatre rather than sport. Personally, I completely disagree with this view, as now will be discussed. Young people nowadays should indulge in sports since this could be advantageous to their physical health. Playing sports could allow them to stay in shape as well as have more energy at work or school, which may help increase their productivity. For instance, since taking up swimming and badminton a year ago, I have felt so stronger and healthier than ever before that I have managed to stay productive and survive working long hours. Moreover, compared to those with low levels of physical activity, physically active people are more likely to maintain a healthy weight. Thus, they would be able to prevent themselves from some life-threatening diseases, namely heart disease, obesity, diabetes, stroke, and high blood pressure. In addition to physical health, there are other positive benefits which sport participation could provide for children and young adults. Firstly, playing sports would give them a chance to spend time with their classmates or colleagues. This could be considered an effective way for them to maintain healthy relationships which may enable them to combat stress, overcome loneliness, build their career, improve their job performance or academic results, and so on. For instance, by playing a football game together frequently, office workers could build and develop stronger work relationships with their colleagues to make their job more enjoyable and productive. Secondly, involvement in sports would permit the youth to build self-discipline and teamwork skills. This in turn may increase the likelihood of their academic and career success. In conclusion, I entirely disagree with the idea of encouraging young people to participate in more cultural activities in lieu of sports.