young people know about international pop and movie stars but know less about famous historical people. what are the reasons of this trend and what can be done to solve this problem?

The young are more knowledgeable about the modern celebrities compared to historical ones. In this essay, some reasons attributed to this trend as well as some ways to keep the young generation informed about the famous people of the past will be proposed. To begin with, this trend can be explained in various ways. Firstly, the young, today, is obsessed in social media sites such ad Twitter, Facebook and Instagram where they follow the sites of the celebrities like pop and movie stars. For example, a recent study by Columbia university found that about 82% of the US teenagers are active in such sites being a regular follower of 15 stars on average. Thus, young people are more aware of the current celebrities and in comparison, they have little time to watch historical movies or visiting historical sites and museum which are the source of the past information. As a result, it is inevitable that they lack data about the history and be excessively concentrated on the modern stars. However, there are also some solutions to inform the young generation about the famous people of the past. Firstly, schools should be shouldered great responsibility to accomplish this task. More specifically such institutions should organize meetings with historical scientist, archaeologists, excursions to historic sites. By virtue of this, the young can accumulate more information about the historic personages and also develop a liking for history. In addition, more and more historical movies should be broadcasted on TV whose fans are mainly consisted of the young. By way of conclusion, imbalance of the knowledge the young possess in terms of celebrities in different period can be attributable to several reasons like excessive focus of young people on social sites and can also be addressed in various ways like increased number of travels and movies about the history