: Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

Although there is a current rise in the use of alternative forms of medicine, it is not a new trend. Alternate forms of medicine have been used by people for many years, all over the world. I am not convinced that these alternate forms of medicine may be harmful to the consumers. With the rapid growth in the number of medicines produced per year to treat various diseases, it is not uncommon that people will purchase such medicines. There are several reasons as to why the conventional medical community is against these alternative forms of medicine. Firstly, due to lack of research done on such medicines, there in not enough evidence to support the claims of the supporters. Furthermore, many people who don’t find the cure to their illness using conventional medicines try their hands, on over-the-counter medicines as alternatives not knowing the damage it may cause in the long run. On the other hand, there are strong arguments to support the use of alternative forms of medicine. Despite the lack of scientific evidence, there is a lot of evidence by people who have consumed these alternate medicines and experienced improvement as compared to when they consumed conventional forms of medicine. Furthermore, after all the evidence, it is safe to say that these alternate medicines do not have any major side effects. At best, this method can cure an illness that was not curable by conventional medicines and at worst it would cause no change. I strongly believe that conventional and alternate forms of medicines can and should coexist. Each of these methods have their own advantages and disadvantages. The best solution would be for alternative forms of medicine to be used to support conventional forms of medicine.