Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective and at worst they may be dangerous.

Alternative medicine is not new. It is accepted that it has predated conventional medicine and is still used only many people all around the world. In my opinion, I am unconvinced that traditional medicine is dangerous and feel that both conventional and traditional medicine can be useful. Reasons why the conventional medical community is often dismissive for alternatives are several. Firstly, there has been very little scientific research in the fields of alternative methods of treatment resulting in scarcity of evidence to support the claims of their supporters. Secondly, this form of medicine is recommended by family or friends which in turn adds positive attitude and can be one of the reasons for the cure with alternative therapy. Also, it is used for long-term chronic illnesses and therefore acute medical conditions need conventional medical treatment. In contrast, alternative therapies have recorded very few or little side-effects, far away from being dangerous. As a result it can not be life-threatening. In other words, there has been a lot of anecdotal evidence from people who underwent these procedures that these therapies work. For example, there are a lot of people in the western countries who are ready to pay for alternative forms of medicines, eventhough the government provides free conventional medicines. So it is always thoughtful that people would pay only if these therapies will be helpful. I strongly believe that conventional medicine and alternative therapies can and should co-exist. They have different strengths and can bot be useful to target particular medical problems. The best situation would be for alternative therapies to be used to support and complement conventional medicine.