In some countries, governments are encouraging people to use their cars less and to take public transport instead. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of working at home is increasingly being witnessed these days due to the technological development such as laptops and mobile phones. Although working at home enables us to fit our hectic schedules, it can also lead to lack of communication and interaction with colleagues. In my opinion, the positive points of working from home surpass the negative aspects. The crucial beneficial factor of having the opportunity to work at home is that we can have more flexible working hours as people tend to work hard to cement their positions in the fast-paced changing work environment so it can help us to maintain a work-life balance. To illustrate, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of employees believe that working at home is more convenient and efficient compared to the traditional ways. As can be seen, this advantage has a profound impact on the employees. However, every coin has two sides. The main challenge of working at home is that people won’t have many opportunities to socialize with their colleagues which is detrimental to the organization as creating and maintaining a good working environment is significant for generating more revenues. Take myself for example, I tend to put in my best effort to work when I trust my co-workers and enjoy the working environment. For this reason, it could be harmful for the business without the proper guidance. To sum up, people’s opinion seems to differ as to whether or not we should work at home. I’m inclined to say that the overall benefits of working at home are superior.