You recently received a letter from a friend asking for advice about whether to go to college or try to get a job. You think he/she should get a job.

It is often said that current learning curriculum of high schools should be equipped with day to day practical activities like troubleshooting a car failure and filling bank forms, so that pupils can get acquainted with real life situations at their early age. I firmly believe that these skills are mandatory in their academic syllabus in order to make their life a smooth sailing. Most of the parents nowadays realized the criticality of daily life skills subjects in their children's learning system, so that they need to worry about getting daily routine things done when the situation arises. Some of them went a step ahead and made sure that their minors are getting enrolled in these subjects. For example, according to the recent education report tabled by the education ministry reveals the facts that student enrolment to plumbing and mechanical classes at the primary level have seen a spike when compared to compared to the earlier academic years. In addition to this, if a person is well versed in fixing minor repairs of household appliances on his own, he does not need to spend hefty amount in the form of maintenance and overhauling charges as these are getting increased over a period of time. Furthermore, one does not have to wait for service personnel to fix any of these issues which in turn saves the valuable time as well. To summarize, learning of Do it yourself (DIY) skills are essential to any student in order to lead a less dependent life and also to restrict themselves on spending various service bills, which in turn gets converted into huge saving in the long run.