: Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

Today, the prevalence of transportation has dominated the modern society by its availability and convenience. This leads to the construction of civil infrastructures such as railways or roads with the aim of aiding the citizens' commuting. In my opinion, I disagree that governments should spend more of national budget on building railways rather than roads due to a lot of factors. First and foremost, the crucial role of city roads cannot be denied, especially in these hectic days when life is getting more sophisticated. To be more specific, going to the local street stores could be done easier by driving a motorbike or just walking. Another example is that it does not take much time and efforts for a five-minute walk to the adjacent schools or market for your daily demands without having to buy train tickets to do so. Moreover, a considerable amount of money has been spent for the upgrade or maintenance of roads in the past decades. Therefore, there is no question that governments should concentrate more on railways if they cease to serve the basic needs from individuals. Another point that is worth considering is that constructing railways may take longer time as well as more financial aids. Take the gas stations in district 1 Ho Chi Minh City as an example, five years has been the time frame needed for the completion of the project, which also requires a significant number of workforce and business vendors from Japan or America. This, as a result, would increase the taxation from residents in order to cover the expenses generated from these national projects. Be that as it may, travelling in long distances could be supported by railways because it can be safer and much faster. In conclusion, governments should prioritise the demand of travelling on roads rather railways because of all the mentioned benefits. Instead of wasting more money on railroads, the maintenance of roads should be more considered in order to assist the citizens better.