It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. with this?

There is no doubt that these days social events are being very important for us to gather and meet our families and friends. However, the question: Should we stop giving each other presents, as sometimes they are not used? Is being a controversial issue nowadays. In this essay I am going to examine this phenomenon from both viewpoints. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that these gifts are just a waste of money. One reason to say this is that people may not be in need of this kind of present or they have the same one already. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that some people cannot afford gifts because of financial problems or family commitments. In addition, some people invite others or even attend social events for instance: weddings and birthday parties only for courtesy so it should not be obligatory for them to bring gifts. One good illustration, here are celebrations in the Kuwaiti society. These parties are being priced and too many people are feeling that it is over their budgets to afford golden gifts or sometimes diamond pieces. On the other hand, it is also possible to consider it with the opposing case. Gifts make people feel more related and close, however, they should not be expensive or luxury. Moreover, the best gift to give is money so the person can buy whatever he/she needs without any embarrassment even if it's a small amount like 5 Kuwaiti dinars. A particularly good example here are the stores where you can put a certain amount of money for someone and then he/she can come and get whatever is needed so no money is wasted and it can be used for useful things. This is done in Jordan, whenever you receive an invitation for a wedding or birthday parties, a certain store will be mentioned at the bottom, so you can put a certain amount of money in this store and they can refer to it to get their gift by themselves. In conclusion, There is no easy answer to this question, however, I tend to believe that gifts should be within a specific budget in the society and it has to be either in cash or within certain stores.