: 1- Happiness is considered very important in life2- What is difficult to define? 3- What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Nowadays, most people have an insatiable desire to possess state-of-the-art materials produced by high-profile companies. Such an attitude is mainly due to a variety of choices individuals may encounter and excessive advertisements across the globe. However, I wholeheartedly believe it is a negative development since it can pose a threat to environment resources. There are several reasons contribute to being consumerism. First and foremost, technological revolution provides people with a wide variety of options. That is to say, having online access to a huge number of branded products, people are being enticed to buy such cutting-edge commodities not because they need those, but because they want to pander to their every whim. Furthermore, advertising can play an essential role in the increased conspicuous consumption. It has psychologically proven that people are sub-consciously drown to products publicizing on television or social networking sites even if they do not need to have ones. Consequently, materialism is spreading through the world by these methods. Nevertheless, I believe purchasing these materials excessively can exert severe pressure on our finite resources. This is because the more items one person utilizes, the more raw materials should be extracted. For instance, the well-known car factory Toyota is claimed to consume a tremendous amount of oil by-product to create their vehicles. Likewise, such factories create different kind of pollution, leading to much more burden on the environment. Therefore, it is clear that producing and consuming these items eventually culminate in ecological degradation. In conclusion, although both technology and advertisements help people to enjoy having the latest products, it seems to me that such a pleasure would come at a high price for the nature and ultimately the humankind.