Would you prefer to live in a traditional house or in a more modern apartment building? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

The growth of large supermarkets has made lives much more convenient than before as there are now more affordable products available to the society. However, this leaves some small business operations paralysed because they could not compete. While it is somewhat gainful, some believe that small businesses going bankrupt that require trading to cease will destroy local communities in which I completely agree with. The first issue that communities are likely to face is the economic collapse. The operations of stores in regions are essential as these provide disposable incomes to local business owners. Closing these crucial businesses would impede the circular flow of income, especially for the family businesses that mainly derive their revenues from selling consumer goods. For instance, there were several stores in one village that catered to the needs of the local and those living nearby; however, the shops were hard struck by the supermarket that was recently opened. This supermarket usually sells much cheaper and has a variety of products, which is perceived to be a financial benefit to low-income families. As a consequence, local small shops were forcibly closed down as they could not counterattack the price competition. The second reason is a potential increase in unemployment rates in the regional areas. Not only local businesses proffer incomes to the owners, but also work to the residents. Many low-paid workers who work as a checkout operator are often not required to have higher education. Searching for an office job would mostly be impossible because they might not meet the qualification criteria. And this requirement is either a bachelor’s or master’s degree in the related field, depending on the position applied. Therefore, closing down the local business operations will certainly affect their work opportunity, in particular the one that struggles to meet one’s daily ends. As a result, these store workers would probably end up being unemployed. In summary, despite various conveniences and monetary benefits those large supermarkets bring to the society at large, the adverse effects on the small-scale business communities as well as unskilled people are more severe.