Essay topics: TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your a

In today's globalised economy, the ability to speak a second dialect is more useful than ever before. While some believe that children should only start to learn a foreign vernacular at secondary school, I side with those who feel the learning process should begin the moment children enter the education system. On the one hand, it could be argued that the study of foreign languages should wait. Those in favour of postponing argue that young school children already have a timetable that is fit to burst and learning how to read, write and count take precedence over second language studies. In short, they feel that the native language should come first. What is more, they also argue that only a small minority of children will ever actually need to use a second language, so it is a waste of time teaching a skill that for many will be redundant later in life. It is a fact that the earlier a child learns a language, the more proficiently they will eventually be able to speak it. Research has shown that before puberty, children have unique ability to acquire languages by simply being exposed to them, which is a skill that ends in adolescence. Moreover, in my opinion, children who learn at an early stage often lack the fear associated with speaking in a foreign tongue. For example, they don't feel self-conscious when trying to pronounce foreign sounds. However, perhaps my strongest argument for starting early is that learning a foreign language provides children with a range of other cognitive skills. Bilingual children are known to perform better on problem solving tasks and have more creativity than their monolingual counterparts, which are desirable skills for children of any age. In conclusion, although young children already have full timetables, learning a foreign language has many positive cognitive side effects for a child's overall education. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that children should start learning a second language at primary school rather than secondary school.