With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The growing usage of virtual literature has led to a reduction in paperback books. This essay will discuss the benefits of e-books, namely, they are more easily accessible and cheaper. As well as, touch on the drawbacks, such as, the damaging effects they have on eyesight. I believe the positive effects exceed the negative effects. There are numerous positives of e-books. To begin with, they are available at the touch of a button in any language, because there are translation options to over 100 languages. Also, the World Wide Web allows access to rare, ancient books that cannot be found in a library. For instance, there are free websites like www. e-books. com that provide direct download links to millions of different books, ranging from globally renowned novels to academic learning titles. Secondly, as opposed to physical books, electronic literature is cheaper. When buying a book the value of the trees cut to make it, the ink used to type it and printers are included in its price. However, all that is required for online literature to exist is a keyboard and an intelligent mind. This makes it possible for people who cannot afford physical books. For example, as a medical student, I find medical books very expensive, alternatively, I download virtual copies that not only cost me nothing, but can be taken with me anywhere in my digital devices. Despite the many pro's, there are also cons. A negligible downside of e-books, is that an over-indulgence can lead to eyesight problems like weaker vision. This is because our eyes are not accustomed to concentrating on a screen that emits so much light for such long hours. An example of this, studies conducted by The Eletronic Devices Society in 2014, found that 80% of individuals spend 6 hours or more on their e books resulting in a strain on eyesight. In conclusion, I re-affirm my belief that e-books are clearly more advantageous than paper books as they are more affordable and accessible, and the minimal drawbacks are easily overcome. In the future, I hope they are available for free from libraries and all authors.