Some people think that government is wasting money on arts and that money could better spent else where

It is commonly believed that, spending a lot of governmental resources on the arts is useless, however, these finances could better be used for other productive activities. I agree that our country is suffering from many problems which need greater financial assistance, but neglecting arts is unfair. According to one school of thoughts, government should provide finances to solve vital public issues. I favour this opinion because we are a developing nation and are devoid of many basic surviving facilities such as shelter, food, education and health. Government is responsible to provide the majority of its below average public with all fundamental facilities and privileges. For this authorities should first utilize finances to introduce public welfare reforms providing free education and economical health care. For example, in 2015 Imran khan launched a health care program in which 25000 people who were unable to afford their medical treatment were provided with health card using which they can have their treatment free of cost and in turn government will pay on their behalf. On the other hand, some argue that expenditure on art activities is an absolute waste of resources. However, I opine, arts like other sciences has its own importance and should not be ignored at any cost. Art galleries and museums are preserving our centuries old cultural heritage, which make us familiar to our folk customs and help to transmit them to our next generation. For instance, Taxilla museum in Pakistan is 67 years old and is preserving years old Buddhist sculpture, along with fascinating display of all four provincial cultures of the country which is a source of information as well as entertainment. Hence, government should aid refurbishment and maintenance of arts and relics places because they have deep spiritual roots in society. To conclude, fundamental necessities such as food, shelter, education and health should be dealt with provision of more attention and resources but not on detriment of the arts.