Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

It is believed by some people that teaching good manners to young ones is the responsibility of the parents, while, others argue that it is the teacher’s responsibility to teach learners how to behave with the other members of community. I believe that both parents and professors should jointly share their roles and responsibilities. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, people argue that basic education starts at home. Naturally, one can assume that parents should teach youngster how to behave well with siblings, relatives, neighbors and the whole society. For instance, at my house my mother used to discipline my younger brother whenever he used abusive language, or pick up fights with our cousins. So, by repetitive instructions and minor punishments, parents can foster good manners in their children’s personality from younger age. It is clear so see why this argument has gained support. On the other hands, some advocate that as young learners spend prime time at schools, teachers should build moral values in the next generations of the society. As young students spend a large portion of their time at school, teacher might not only stress upon gaining A+ grade, but also read out traditional stories, which contain moral lessons. In addition, in order to fully utilize this time, schools ought to encourage sport activities among different classes. These extracurricular activities teach them many life lessons, such as how to accept defeat gracefully, and the importance team-work in achieving goal, such as winning. Thus, school plays an important role in building special qualities, such as patience and persistence, in a child’s life. In conclusion, both school and home are important sources of molding young one’s personality and to find his or her place in the society, and behave morally and ethically with others. In my opinion, in order to bring child’s best, both sources ought to compliment the role of each other.