With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.

The printed newspaper has dominated the last century but has already lost its appeal to a great extent. As the online newspaper is gaining popularity at a rapid speed, I personally believe that new generation will find it cumbersome to read the news in a traditional way and thus it would become a thing of the past. To begin with, technology has revolutionalised the way we want to read the news. Online news media has far more technological tools to present news to the viewers than the printed newspapers. Sophisticated technology allows us to comment, share and bookmark a news which traditional newspapers have no way to offer. On top of that, the internet is more eco-friendly than the newspapers. The less printed newspaper we use, the more trees we save. So, the government and other environmental agencies would promote the use of eco-friendly products and services and digital news portals will be more popular in upcoming years. Many European countries’ paper use rates for printed media show a significant decline and it is obvious that this trend will continue. Many people say that the reading printed newspaper is not only a habit but also a culture for many human beings. Perhaps it may be true to some degree, but we cannot deny that the new generation is on the path of swift changing cultures and habits, according to the social changes. They hold the view that the faster we accept the changes, the better it is and they mostly read the news on their electronic gizmos such as smartphones and similar devices. To conclude, despite printed newspapers' traditional value and a nostalgic appeal, the digital version would surely replace it in the future.