The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls.

Cell phones have become very common among everyone, thanks to the technological advancements, the handheld device is available starting from few pennies to even millions of dollars. These tools, depending on features that they come along with, can perform multiple operations. While the technology geeks encourage the uptrend, luddites talk about negative impacts that such devices can bring into the society. Both these arguments will be carefully analysed before arriving at a reasoned conclusion. These portable devices have become an indispensable part of our mind which requires entertainment-on-demand. For instance, such devices accessing high-speed network can stream a high definition video live. These devices are also being constructively used to control the smart appliances at home remotely from anywhere in the world. In addition to this, the cell phone is used for improving one’s fitness through some useful application that can help through different fitness routines replacing the need for a trainer. In short, the mobile phones are replacing many other types of equipment and emerging as a one-stop solution for many requirements. On the other hand, due to smartphones, people are glued to their smartphone screens even during meetings in office and also while at home. To illustrate, phubbing has become one of the leading bad behaviours in recent years. Specifically, the situation in some of the house is so worse that they chat with their sibling in next room instead of talking to them. To conclude, the socialisation among the social animal is taking place in an unconventional way. This can lead to loss of linguistic speaking skills in a long term. Considering the points of view of both camps, the cell phones have many advantages than disadvantages but it is advocated to use the technology judiciously and ensure overall development of human society