With the pressure on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subj

In this contemporary world, the crime rates and the number of criminals is escalating remarkably. Some people opine that the custodial sentence is a crucial option for penalizing the offenders, while others believe that there are other significant methods to punish them. This essay will highlight that such simpler punishment is only acceptable for the minor offences, however, a serious lawbreaker must receive a penalty accordingly. To begin with, if an individual is involved in some petty crimes, due to a certain circumstance or pressure, then providing unpaid community services or other trivial retributions is justifiable. Offences such as shoplifting and pickpocketing are usually carried out by the destitute younger ones to satisfy their appetite or to reduce the financial burden of the family. For instance, in India, an offender engaged in such misdeed is punished to execute a public work without payment which has indirectly helped the economy of the nation, as the government are not bound to pay the workers. Thus, such kind of crimes which have no significant impact on the society or the country could be penalized by a simpler process. Nevertheless, misdeeds such as murder, kidnapping and rape are extremely serious, and the culprit involved in such situations must be allowed with the custodial sentence. Even if the offence is performed under some substance or by the younger ones, they must be provided with a harsh penalty, but only after proven guilty. To illustrate, a survey recently taken by the Nepal Human Rights Foundation stated that after the government implemented the law to allocate a lifetime imprisonment to the lawbreaker engaged in such consequential crimes, since then the crime rate has declined significantly from 49℅ to 27℅ within 3 years. In conclusion, I believe that granting a simple penalty for the criminal performing a minor misdeed is convenient. However, serious crimes must be punished with the prison sentence or other harsh vengeance accordingly.