With the increasing population, communication via the Internet and text messaging, face-to-face communication will become a thing of the past. Agree or disagree?

The past few decades have witnessed the prevalence of Internet-based and technological communication. It is said that the presence of these communicating types makes face-to-face one archaic. From my perspective, I vigorously take issue with this view as some reasons given below. On the one hand, it is undisputed that the unrestricted access to the Internet has benefited greatly the public for its convenience and comfort. Telecommunication tools including email, instant messaging or social networks undoubtedly facilitate people’s interaction which brings people closer together. An international student or a foreign worker in the UK, for example, can deliver a message to his friends or family back home in Vietnam, only at the click of a mouse regardless of geographical barriers. On top of that, through online communication, money is saved as it is much cheaper, faster and efficient to transfer information around. At the same time, traditional face-to-face communication is not unreservedly replaced despite these above benefits of telecommunication. For instance, oral conversation is indispensable in situations as a relationship. Lovers need body contact such as a hug and a kiss, which are impossibly done in letters or emails. Even they can use social networks to communicate, being apart for a long time is utterly not beneficial to a relationship. Furthermore, two crucial aspects, one protecting confidentiality, the other enhancing trust and credibility, make real-life contact the most preferable way of negotiation, especially in business. To sum up, in spite of several advantages of the communicating development, virtual communication sustainably plays a pivotal role in our life and cannot be thoroughly supplanted somehow.