With an increasing population communication via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

Opinions are divided on whether the environment should be preserved solely by the government or individuals. I think that although the government can make a notable contribution to protect our natural surroundings, the individuals can do more. On the one hand, it is often argued that the liability of protecting the environment lies with those who are in authority. This is because the executive bodies can do legislation for the restraint of diverse environmental issues such as the air, water, and noise pollution. To illustrate, most of the countries are making laws imposing hefty fines on those industrial units which dump their effluents in the open water reservoirs. This helps to keep the natural reserves clean for animal species, as well as for the urban and rural residents from noxious industrial wastes. Another measure the government can take is to run environmental awareness campaigns using multiple forms of mass media like TV, newspapers, and magazines. If people are educated by the government about repercussions of deteriorating the environment, they would protect it in a better way. However, I believe that each person can play a more vital role to conserve one’s neighbourhood. The reason for this is that it is in the hands of each individual to restrict the number of pollutants thrown into the air, water or land. For example, cars are a major source of carbon-based pollution because they exhaust toxic fumes directly into the air. If owners of private vehicles prefer to use public transport for the majority of their work, this will improve the air quality, rendering it breathable. Furthermore, those in charge of their homes can make sure that they dump their household waste properly into recycle stations themselves or by taking the services of a waste management company, rather flushing it directly into the streets, rivers, and canals. Thus, adopting such measures will ensure the safety and cleanliness of our natural habitat. In conclusion, while people have differing views about environmental integrity, I opine that the residents can do more to protect it, despite the efforts the states are making.