With the growth of satellite and cable television, people in many countries can now watch television channels from all over the world. The programmes that these foreign television networks show have a harmful effect on the local cultures of these countrie

In recent years, satellite technology and globalisation have led to an explosion in the popularity of satellite and cable television in many parts of the world. This change has also affected viewing habits in those countries. In my country, for example, I can remember when we had only four local television channels to choose from. Now I can choose from ten times as many channels. Moreover, these channels are from all over the world. While critics argue that these foreign channels have a negative effect on our culture, the opposite is true. In fact, these channels have had mostly positive effects. One important positive effect of the introduction of international news channels into my country has been in the area of news and current affairs. Whereas. in the past. we found out about the news from our local TV channels, we can now find out about the news from other sources, including international ones. We can even watch news for 24 hours a day, if we wish, with news channels such as CNN. Therefore, our knowledge of the news has increased because of the greater variety of news sources now available, and we are better-informed about events in our country and in the rest of the world than in the post. Although critics of satellite television claim that it damages local culture, I would argue that it has a positive effect on local culture. In fact, it has made me value my local culture more. For example, I recently watched a programme on the Discovery Channel which featured the customs and traditions of a tribe in my country, which made me feel proud of my country' s rich heritage. To sum up, although the opponents of satellite television worry that foreign TV channels are harmful, they can, in my view, have a beneficial effect on local culture.