With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that an increasing number of people have to live in houses or flats which are cramped or there is no outdoor area. While this trend could be positive to some extent, I would argue that its negative side is greater. On the one hand, a small space offers people a frugal and simple lifestyle. First, since smaller houses or flats are cheaper to rent or buy, many urban dwellers opt to live in them as the best available option. These kinds of accommodation especially suit many young people who are studying or just have a job as they are living on a budget. Second, homeowners of small houses could be able to spend less time on cleaning up their home. This becomes increasingly important in the fast pace of life in which many people so catch up in the pressure of work, and need more leisure time to recharge their batteries. On the other hand, I believe that this housing trend has a significant negative impact. One consideration is that the limitation of open spaces for physical activities discourages citizens to do workouts. This sedentary lifestyle makes people more prone to the risk of developing some forms of diseases such as obesity and diabetes. In addition, lack of spaces leads to lack of privacy which might result in interest conflicts between family members. For instance, children might find it really difficult to find a quiet private place to concentrate on their homework while their parents are watching television. In conclusion, while small living spaces bring about several benefits, I believe that the drawbacks of this tendency are much greater.