Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped immediately to stop damaging the environment.

Economic development is becoming a subject of debate these days. While some believe that economical growth is essential in addressing poverty, others think that it should be stopped as it is causing the environmental damage. This essay will discuss why to lessen the poverty is important, but why saving environment is vital for a greater good. On the one hand, there are some people who believe that economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty. Countries with a good economic growth can provide a high level of social welfare, free education and free medical care to their citizens. For example, in developed countries even the poorest of the poor have the basic amenities of life, such as food, clothing and shelter. Because of the above reason some think that economy is important to diminish the poverty. On the other hand, some believe that a growing economy is damaging the environment. Most of the things we use require some kind of energy to manufacture, operate and maintain and disposing-of these things is difficult. This type of things is likely to pollute the environment. Because of this reason people believe that economic growth should be put to an end to stop harming the environment. In conclusion, debates about the economic development are becoming contentious. This essay discussed why economic development is a key to decrease the poverty, but why economic growth leading to an environmental damage. In my opinion, we should focus on environmental friendly development.