With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

With the advent of newly developed health care services, the human population is increasing across the globe. To meet the increased demand of the food, scientists has found out that genetically modified foods can help. Many people think that this is a viable solution. There are both advantages and disadvantages of opting for such foods. To commence with, GM foods are considered to be a saviour because they have the capability to match the ever growing needs of food in the world by increasing the quantity. As the farming land is limited, thus, there must be ways to increase the productivity of the crops. The genetically modified seeds are one such solution. For example, the genetically modified seeds of cotton with the capabilities to fight against the microorganisms has increased the productivity of the crops by 30% in Brazil. However, because their side-effects on human health and the environment are not completely known, it cannot be treated as a resolution. Firstly, there will an increased threat of allergic reactions to the people with sensitive immune system.  It is highly likely for a person to experience an allergic reaction because the GMO used in the farming might have some protein, to which a person is allergic. Secondly, people may become immune to the antibiotics. Most of the GMOs have some antibodies in their systems, to prevent infectious diseases. Therefore, antibiotics to fight against infection might stop working on their bodies. To conclude, it is true that GM foods can help us to meet the demand for food and end world hunger. But, it is not a viable solution until we know all the side-effects these may have and find out a way to overcome them.