With a growing world population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

As the world population is rising, meeting the dietary needs of all people has become a matter of concern. Some people argue that growing more genetically modified food can tackle this issue. In my opinion, GM foods can solve this issue to a great extent but there are some other solutions as well for this problem. Genetic engineering can be used for increasing the food production. By changing the DNA structure, people can make crops more disease and pest resistant. When crops are not destroyed by diseases and pest, the yield will be more. In addition to this, more desirable features can be added to crops by genetic engineering. For example, by using genetic modification we can grow bigger fruits or vegetables. Nutritional value of crops could also be increased by genetically modifying the crops. However, GM crops have some drawbacks and depending more on them is not the right solution to this problem. When crops are manipulated to increase yield, certain natural nutritional contents may be lost and also, people may get allergies by consuming these kinds of foods. Because of these reasons it is unwise to depend too much on them. A better solution is to encourage all people to grow their food. If each family can grow enough food for themselves, food scarcity will not be a problem at all. If this is made a legal obligation, people can eat naturally grown healthy food and their nutritional requirements will be met. In conclusion, GM foods can certainly solve the food scarcity to a great extent. However, they are not the only solution. Instead of depending on GM food bought from the market, people should try to grow their own food in their backyard.