With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Nowadays, increase in population is one of the major concerns in many countries. While an escalating population is an issue, many think that GM foods should be given more priority. In this essay I will discuss both the positive and the negative outcome of such initiative. The main benefit of growing genetically modified food items is to save time. This is because genetic modification food takes less time to grow when compared to the natural process of producing food. For example, farmers in India use chemicals while growing crops in order to produce quickly which means it curtail the amount of time. Moreover, genetic modified foods can be grown substantially at a time, which is a feasible solution to satisfy the hungry of a huge population. This can be illustrated when we look at China’s genetic food growing policy in order to supply vegetables, fruits, pulses and other eatables to their people even though they are the world’s highest populated country. Therefore, if no fertilizer were used to grow crops faster, then many people of the high populated countries would have suffered famine and hunger. Looking at the negative aspect, of genetic modified foods is it may lead to health problems. This is due to over-using of chemical may add toxic nutrients to the foods which can potential any side effects to the consumer. For instance, if chemicals are used to grow food, rather than opting natural process, this can cause allergic reactions to some and some may also suffer from hormonal imbalances. Furthermore, it may certainly reduce the nutrients from the foods which means no proper nutrients and vitamins are transferred to the body. As a result, if this happens then the body will become vulnerable to diseases, due weak immune system. In conclusion, although growing foods through GM is a beneficial method as it can cut-down the time and produce in large supplies, but it also has drawbacks to the consumers in terms of health problems and poor immunity power. So, both pros and cons should be considered before adapting such process.