With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Replacing daily meals with fast foods is becoming a norm in the modern world. People in the modern society are no longer cooking due to their busy schedules. In my opinion, this trend has more demerits than merits. To begin with, fast foods are made up of a high proportion of unhealthy ingredients such as unsaturated fats, oil and sugar. Frequent intake of these will cause obesity and health problems, including diabetes and high cholesterol levels. In additional to that, fast foods have very low nutritional value and do not fulfil the requirements of a balanced diet. Hence, constant intake of fast foods may cause nutritional deficiency in the long term. This is especially harmful to children and teenagers whose bodies are still developing. Besides that, replacing proper meals with fast foods may also affect family bonding over dinner. Packaged fast foods are almost never eaten together sitting around a table. Rather youngsters and children alike consume them mindlessly sitting in front of the television or computer. The overuse of fast foods also eliminates any opportunity to cook together and talk. This lack of communication within the household affects family ties. Children may suspect that they are not close enough to their parents and stop sharing the issues they face at school. This may eventually cause behavioural problems in them. To conclude, I feel that the invention of fast foods is bringing more harms than good to the modern society. In my opinion, health and family bonding time are precious things and they should be the priorities of our lives at all times.