Why is it important to learn a foreign language, and why do you think people learn another language? Give your views with examples.

Many people are learning a new foreign language these days and this trend is increasing. There are certainly many benefits of learning a new language. People want to know a new language mainly for travel purpose and for getting a new job in another country. First of all, many people want to be able to converse in a new language so that they can meet new people, and talk to them. That will open a new vista in making new friends. With the advent of social media, people’s desire to meet new people, and to know new culture is not distant dream. Therefore, many of us are ready invest a valuable amount of time, money and efforts to master another language. We hope that this new acquired skill will help us to create new bonding and friendship with people from another corner of the planet. Another important reason why we are willing to learn a new language is the benefits that we can derive from the knowledge of another language. In the globalized world, people may find some suitable career opportunities in another country and in another place. However, it’s not easy to grab such offers if one does not know the local language of that place. That’s why, many people want to learn new language, especially the one spoken in developed country. Knowledge of language can help to get a good employment offer from another country. For example, United Nations has many languages as its official language and advertisements from the UN often mentions that knowledge of any other UN language other than English will be an advantage. That shows the importance of new language learning. In conclusion, learning a foreign language has many advantages. It helps us in travelling to new places, in making friends from faraway lands, and also bolsters our confidence and probability of landing in a good international position.