Why do students prefer doing part time jobs during their studies? Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages?

Combining work with schooling is a controversial issue among people. Some tutees engage with part-time jobs due to financial constraints. However, I believe that distraction from academic work and lack of parental control far outweigh any disadvantages. To begin with, some students might decide to take a part-time job due to financial hardship. Scholars from poor family background may find it difficult to meet up with tuition fee and thus the need to take up a work so as to be financially buoyant to pay school fee and meet some basic needs. For example, it was discovered that most students drop out of school in Nigeria because they were not employed by any employer. It is beneficial for students from poor background to seek for job opportunity so as to meet up with school demands. Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages from combining schooling with work. First, students are easily distracted as a result of work. Some students might find it quite difficult to combine pressure at work with challenges at school. Thus, leading to a poor grade at school. Also, improper management of time by the students might also lead to poor performance at work. Furthermore, attending school and working at the same time prevent proper parental control. It might be very difficult for parents to guide and control the student since they have two major activities that take their time. Occasionally, some parents might not know the movement of their children consequently leading to lack of adequate monitoring. For instance, a parents might not know if the student is at work or in school. This act give the children too much freedom. In conclusion, although some student gets engaged with part-time job in order to fend for their school and themselves, nonetheless it distracts their concentration and make them lack parental guidance. It is on this basis that I think that there are more disadvantages to advantages when students engage in part-time work.