There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large one.

It is now a common occurrence for people globally to prefer a smaller family unit to a bigger one. Although a small nuclear family is beneficial owing to the low cost of maintenance and optimal education for the offspring, there are also some drawbacks to be taken into consideration. On one hand, the principal advantage of a small family is low cost of maintenance. To put in another way, the funds that will be required to manage his clan as a whole will be small and affordable. Consequently, the family head will have no difficulties providing for his family's needs. In addition, the children will have the chance of receiving optimal and standard education and this will help in securing their future. For instance, it has been reported by the society for family health in Nigeria that, children from smaller nuclear families always secure more profitable Jobs in the labour market because of the top notch education they received in their formative years. On the other hand, the major demerit of having a small family is poor development of social skills. For instance, in a family of one child and two very busy parents who always leave their child with the help because they can afford one. The child is left with no one else to mingle with except her toys and the maid who might not even be educated, consequently, this will affect the child's ability to interact with people in larger circles and also cause loneliness. To conclude, alhough, having smaller family unit is beneficial, the major disadvantage of poor social skill development needs to be duly considered in order to prevent difficulty interacting with humans in larger circles.