People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People consume more refined meals than they did many years ago. This is because they lack the time to cook homemade dishes and this could result in excessive weight gain. People tend to eat more processed foods these days than they did in the past because they lack time to prepare homemade meals. Workers are required to resume earlier than they used to because of the competition in the job market. In other words, they need to work longer hours to meet with the demands of the job, thus, depriving them from eating healthy meals. Factory employees, for example, in Nigeria, work up to 16 hours a day with limited time for themselves. Hence, they result to 'can' foods, which are unhealthy, but this was not so in the 1960s. The primary effect of eating refined meals is excessive weight gain. One becomes excessively overweight which could lead to obesity. Processed food contains refined sugars, which if eaten on a regular basis, stores in the body as fat and poses grave danger to the general health and well being of a person. Moreover, It could clog the blood vessels, which could be problematic in the long run. A study carried out in the United States of America in 2015, revealed that about 80 percent of the populace is obese because they eat more refined meals now than they did in the past. In conclusion, people are eating more processed foods than in the previous generation due to lack of time to cook homemade meals and the effect is that many are excessively overweight leading to obesity.