Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime.

It is argued by some people that the advancements in techology have contributed to a reduction in crimes, while others are of the view that modern techology propel people to commit crimes. Although there are new forms of criminal acts due to recent technology, I believe that the development of techological helps to prevent crimes and easily apprehend criminals. On the one hand, some people think that the new technologies have increased the modes of crimes today. Unlike in the past when criminals operate with arms to threaten and subdue their victims but still face many challenges, they now use mobiles devices, computers and the internet to break laws in the comfort of their homes. For instance, the surge in cases of fraud in Nigeria has been attributed to the wide use of computers and internet by the youths in the country. Thus, there have been an increase in various crimes as a result of technological advancements. On the other hand, some people believe that recent technological developments help to catch both would-be criminals and the law breakers. Through the use of surveillance cameras and online devices, law enforcers now have live feedbacks on crimes within their domains, which has enables them arrest persons planning to involve in crime and criminals. For example, the concept of Pre-crime Surveillance has prevented serious crimes in countries such as the UK and France. Therefore, some people with the intend to break laws have been rehabilitated, law breakers promptly arrested and more people have been protected through modern techology. In conclusion, despite the fact that technological development has increased the modes of crime, however, it has helped to quickly catch criminals and prevent serious crimes. On the balance, I believe that it helps to reduce crimes.