Fake news is becoming increasingly common in the era of social media. What problems will it cause to individuals and the society? Suggest some measures to deal with it.

In the light of social networks, it is widely acknowledged that false information is becoming disseminated. This phenomenon is likely to have detrimental influences on the public, but they can be tackled by the solutions outlined below. Several related problems can be anticipated because of disinformation. The foremost issue is the misinformation and misunderstanding among people that affects their lives. Many people take advantages of topics of universal interest and compelling evidence to make other people believe in distorted information. As a result, this will form negative ideas in their minds and they can make wrong decisions. Another pressure will include the life and mental health of people who involved rumors. Although information has not been verified, they can have to suffer criticism from public opinion. For instance, celebrities may be harassed on online social media, and targeted by insults and threats in real life. There are several actions that could be taken to eradicate the problems described. The first possible solution is to raise awareness in the community by campaigns or educational lectures. Therefore, people boycott false information and approve reliable information sources. A further step is for the government to administer strict punishments. For example, authorities should impose fines on rule violators or imprison if necessary. By doing this, offenders may learn lessons and have fewer possibilities to return to lives of crime. In conclusion, spreading distorted news will trigger consequences, and the proposed solutions must be taken to combat the effects of these issues.