While studying some students take weekend or evening jobs to help with expenditure. How do you feel about this? What are the drawbacks and benefits of such a decision?

Nowadays, it is quite common to see many students engaged in part time jobs. A number of learners work after school or college hours in order to meet their expenses. This essay will delve into pros and cons of part time jobs done by the young students. On one hand, there are many advantages of doing a part-time job. Firstly, young learners are able to earn money which help in decreasing in the burden of expenses on their parent’s pockets. Secondly, by engaging in such jobs a pupil gains many qualities such as communication skills and time management which proves to be beneficial in the later part of their life. For instance, according to a research by a popular magazine, it is shown that the persons who have taken up some part time jobs during college days are more professional than the others. Last but not the least, it helps to build confidence of the student which, in turn, helps in one’s holistic development. On the other hand, there are various detrimental effects of working part time after college hours. The students usually lose their interest in studies as they are more focused towards their job. Moreover, a greater number of stressful time results into deterioration of the mental health of young learners. To illustrate, around 80 percent of students doing part time jobs are seen to be prone to some kind of mental disease such as depression, thus, affecting the society as a whole. To conclude, the advantages of doing part time work clearly overshadows the disadvantages. In my opinion, engaging in job is an excellent opportunity for the pupils to gain various qualities which help them in their future career prospects.