While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Punishing wrongdoers are a very necessary to maintain peace. Some believe that offenders should be given a custodial sentence. In my opinion, while it is a very effective way of keeping them away from the crime, but there should be more focus on the education and community labour for their rehabilitation. Firstly, the most important reason for imprisonment is that it gives prisoners time to look upon their actions and repent for them. For example, if someone is in prison, then they might feel bad for staying away from their family because of their bad deeds and would not commit these actions again. Moreover, if they go into the open world without repenting for their actions, then they might again get tempted to do something impermissible by law. For this reason, the duration of the sentence is varied as per the seriousness of the offence. On the other hand, rehabilitation of the criminals should be on the agenda of the governments too. So, learning and public work etc. , should be allowed for prisoners who have committed some minor crime. This would help them in reshaping their lives again. For instance, education can teach them how wrong they were, by providing insights to the negative impacts of their doings. Therefore, they would try to become a better person. Furthermore, community labour won't just help them in earning some money, but they might learn some skill such as carpentry etc. This would help them in earning money, when they get out of jail. To conclude, I believe that imprisonment of the offenders is very much needed to maintain peaceful and just society. However, people who have done minor wrongdoings should be rehabilitated as well by providing them facilities such as education, community labour etc.