When you have a question, do you prefer asking instructors for the answer or finding the answer for yourself through resources such as books or the Internet? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether friends should have similar opinions or not has always been a point of disagreement. While some may think that having totally like-minded friends brings more benefits, others prefer to have friends having some opposite views. In this essay, I will look at both sides and give my own opinion. Some opt to have friends thinking in a similar way to benefit from a long-lasting relationship. They think that what may prevent them from cementing their friendship is disagreement on certain matters. For instance, supporting two completely opposite political parties, they may encounter a tough situation – this happens when political atmosphere is polarized- in which they find supporting a certain group something that might threaten the whole nation. In other words, they do not have just different opinions, but one group thinks advocates of another group are seriously harming their society. This can adversely affect their friendship. On the other hand, others are willing to have friends who are sometimes against them. They feel that they are not able to always think in the best way and when someone casts doubt on what they believe, they can get familiar with some hidden aspects of their views. An example of this is the time when you decide to set up a new business while not conducting enough market research. A friend opposing you in this matter and guiding you to have a better image of the market can prevent them from facing severe problems including going bankrupt. To sum up, it seems to me that friends should have the same ideas regarding their fundamental tastes and beliefs. However, disagreement on some other topics might sometimes bring more benefits.