When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance.

It is believed that the usage of a building should be considered as the most important criterion in its design procedure instead of its exterior. In my view, some buildings are especially designed to attract people, transfer a message, or serve as a symbol, while in other buildings, their applications dominate the designing process. Architects usually regard the design of a building’s external appearance as a critical step of their job. Such an importance emerges from the high potential of this part of buildings that can be definitely utilized to give them unique characteristics. For instance, thousands of tourists travel to Sydney to enjoy watching the picturesque external design of this city’s opera house. Additionally, a special message can be transferred through using particular elements in a building’s outward view. To illustrate, the German parliament’s glassy appearance is interpreted as the transparency of relationships between the political parties. Moreover, some building symbolize a country and everyone remembers those buildings whenever they think about that country. For example, the iconic outward design of Burj al Arab in Dubai, which resembles a sailing boat, has become the symbol of this UAE. On the other hand, a huge amount of expenditure on special outward designs cannot be justified as logical for some types of building, since their intended usage preponderates over their appearance. Therefore, in some cases the simplest types of facades have always been selected. For example, the exteriors of industrial warehouses are usually covered by a layer of cement or even bricks. Most of public and official buildings are constructed for special purposes. To illustrate, hospitals’ structures are designed based on regulations which assure their resistance against extreme natural disasters such as earthquakes and floods; as a result, more strict regulations should be considered in their structural design process ― their appearance is not their architectural priority. In conclusion, the outward views of some buildings are a simple architectural element, because in certain cases conceptual appearances have been designed to attract people, symbolize a country, or transfer an idea, whereas in some other buildings, the designers focus on structural factors rather than their exterior appearances ― for the sake of building’s intended usage.