When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance.

It is widely believed that in design stage of a building, its function should be considered more important than its exterior. While I argue that appearance brings a lot of advantages, I totally agree with this idea. On the one hand, there is no doubt that a magnificent outer space is of significance to a building. From business perspective, appearance of a building can contribute to reputable commercial values. For example, shopping centers use their outward appearance to draw the customers’ attention, so a person who gets a positive first impression with their exterior is more likely to enter the building to ask for services. Therefore, the outlook of the constructions is always regarded as an effective advertising tool that brings considerable revenues for their owners. From cultural perspective, some buildings symbolizing the history of the city they are located in also need to be beautiful from the outside to attract tourists. Take St. Joseph’s Cathedral in Hanoi as an example, visitors not only come there because of cultural meanings but also its unique architecture. On the other hand, it is clear that the function have a fundamental role to play as every construction needs to be safe and comfortable. For instance, a shopping mall has to possess a wide walkway, a good lighting system and adequate emergency exit. Furthermore, each building has its own practical use, so architects have to design it with a view to satisfying the requirements of the building’s users. A theatre, for example, is supposed to have a well-designed sound system and a scientifically-arranged hall so that every in the audience can conveniently enjoy movies or shows. In conclusion, although both factors are important, I concur that without a proper function – based design, the gorgeous appearance of a building is only a waste of investment.