When compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

Latest technology breakthrough and plummet prices allow close to every single household to equip with a television and computer. It is noticeable high proportion of adolescences select to stay indoors comparative to the past, the drawbacks of such should not be neglected. Obesity is one major negative impact to the lifestyle of current children in modern developed countries. Combination of their consumption of unhealthy fast food with staying indoors to play computer games or watching television, lead to imbalance of intake and energy output and causing obesity. A general lack of exercise prevents the physical and mental development of children. Being fat, not only has health impact such as aspiratory sickness and degraded heart condition, but together impacting mental health especially with self-doubting around peers, indirectly increasing pressure. A more frequent reporting of juveniles falls unconscious during the night and lead to serious health issues have been related to obsessive with computer games. Moreover, watching television is a passive activity, there are no engagement of critical thinking and communication, imperilling the cognitive, physical and mental development. There are different ways to enforce younger generations to attend extra curriculum outdoor activities. First, mandatory physical education lesson of twice per week at school would help improve health. Secondly, education system could impose a point system on volunteer activities, a higher score could have a chance on school fee subsidy, this could encourage children to engage with the society, understanding others and self awareness. Encouraging and guidance from parents to younger generation to live a healthy life is essential in reducing the negative impact of pre-occupied in stationary activities.