When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the wage plays an integral role in selecting a career. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that others choose their careers according to other concerns. I agree that the majority decide their jobs in accordance with the fact how much they are paid. We all need money to pay our basic necessities, such as food and accommodation, and this has huge effects on the selection of jobs. Also, many people feel self-fulfilment and happy if they have well-paid enough jobs to enjoy outside work rather than the job to make ends meet. For example, many young people try to become rich by working as a bank manager, or owning their business as these spheres are considered to be the fields to become wealthy. Thus, it is agreeable that the key consideration in selecting a career is the salary. Despite the arguments expressed above, there are other concerns when individuals select their jobs. Firstly, the interest and taste of people affect their future careers. For example, some people desperately want to become painters or artists thanks to their wishes despite the fact that they are not able to earn as much money as businessmen/businesswomen do. Secondly, some individuals are happy to work in any job if they are provided with a fulfilling work atmosphere, good colleagues, and an inspiring boss who is always ready to help. Finally, some people define their careers to contribute something positive to society. For the reasons mentioned above, although the majority selects careers in accord with money, it seems to me that there are other considerations in the selection of a job.