Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished.

Studying pedagogy, I comprehend that there are plenty of factors that may affect the performance of students, one of which is how they are treated. Some believe that punishment is effective, while the other think that students' results are better when being rewarded. As far as I am concerned, rewarding has more positive influences on the improvement of a pupil's academic work, and I will show you why. Those who think that punishment improves students' grades may argue that the fear of getting punished would force them to study. For example, a student might want to spend his time playing or hanging out with his peers rather than completing his homework, but if he knows that he would be punished if he did not complete the assignment, he is more likely to give priority to his homework than any other activities. As a result of this fear, youngsters would put more effort on their studies and consequently their results would improve. On the other hand, rewarding influences students in a much more positive way. Recognizing children’s academic achievements by awarding them medals, certificates, and trophies make them feel confident and proud of themselves, which keeps them motivated to perform well consistently. This sense of happiness and fulfilment motivates them to work hard without having their teachers or parents pushing them. For instance, a recent study published in the Daily Mail suggested that 90% of the top positions in the schools in the UK were acquired by self-motivated students. In conclusion, while punishment seems to be a good method, it cannot guarantee the improvement in academic performances. Rewarding is more effective, especially in the long term, and it is also the key to a happier school life.