What was the most memorable event in high school? Give reasons why and include details and examples in your explanation.

Smoking not only leads to health problems for the smoker, but also for people close by, hence smoking should not be allowed in public places. Although there are arguments on both sides, I agree that a ban is the most appropriate course of action. To begin with, opponents of such a ban argue against it for several reasons. Firstly, they say that passive smokers make the choice to breathe in other people’s smoke by going to places where it is allowed. If they would prefer not to smoke passively, then they do not need to visit places where smoking is permitted. For instance, a young adult would be affected by smoking fumes only when he visits a club house or is found around active smokers. Secondly, they believe a ban would possibly drive many bars and pubs out of business as smokers would not go there anymore. To illustrate, a survey amongst bars revealed that an active campaign against smoking led to the closure of most pubs were smoking is allowed because, the rate of patronage declined. However, there are more convincing arguments in favour of a ban. First and foremost, it has been proven that tobacco consists of carcinogenic compounds which cause serious harm to a person’s health, not only the smoker. Anyone around them can develop cancers of the lungs, mouth and throat, and other sites in the body therefore, It is simply not fair to impose this upon another person. For example, it was recorded in a health journal that passive smokers are at a greater risk of developing respiratory ailments, thus public smoking should be discouraged. In conclusion, it is clear that it should be made illegal to smoke in public places. This would improve the health of several people, which is definitely a positive development.